To Do

Image

“I’ve written a list of what I have to do today”

“That’s good.”

“Do you want to hear it?”

“I guess.”

“Number one; become more confident.”

“Oh it’s one of those lists.”

“What do you mean?”

“One of those self-affirmation lists.”

“I guess so.”

“Mmm.”

“Number two; say what I feel.”

“Yep.”

“Number three; ask Jane about the lawyer she used.”

“Oh she needed a lawyer?”

“Yeah she just had some papers drawn up.”

“Oh ok, is she alright?”

“Yeah she’s fine.”

“Good.”

“Number four; try to express my feelings.”

“Wasn’t that number two or something?”

“No, that was to say what I feel.”

“Isn’t that the same thing?”

“Four expands on it.”

“Why isn’t it number three then? You explain how you feel, then you talk to a lawyer. I don’t get it.”

“Maybe the lawyer helps me express my feelings?”

“Huh? Alright, whatever.”

“Five… hey, are you listening to me?”

“Of course I am, how could I not?”

“Well you’re just tapping away at your laptop there.”

“I’m still listening though, go on.”

“I want your full attention.”

“What? Alright, fine. Just let me save what I’m doing.”

“What ever. Alright, Five; work out what I need to pack right away and what I can get later.”

“Pack? What do you mean?”

“Six; call my sister and make sure she can pick me up.”

“Hang on, what?”

“Seven; tell George we’re breaking up.”

“Hey, breaking up? This isn’t fair, you’ve just sort of sprung this on me…”

“Eight, it’s not me it’s you.”

“Oh nice, that’s a good one.”

“Nine; this conversation is over.”

“No, I don’t think so, you can’t just drop all this on me and…”

“Don’t be here tonight. Go to Mike’s or something so I can pack.”

“Oh come on, this isn’t fair.”

“Ten; On second thought I’m catching a taxi to my sister’s. Good bye.”

“Well this is just… Hey, where are you going? Don’t you walk away! Don’t you open that door! Don’t you…slam it.”

“Eleven!”

“What, we’re yelling now?”

“I’m glad I finally got your attention”

Leave a Reply

